Engineering firm ‘Quickway’ to start construction on Coffs Harbour Bypass


Coffs Harbour, Coffs Harbour Bypass, Quickway,


Vital work for Coffs Harbour Bypass in the Korora section is a step closer to starting utility works worth nearly $50 million.

The Coffs Harbour Bypass is a 14-kilometre bypass of the Coffs Harbour urban area, from Englands Road in the south to Sapphire in the north. The project was proposed by Transport for NSW as part of the Pacific Highway Upgrade project, funded by the Australian and NSW governments.

The upgrade will deliver four lanes of divided motorway bypassing the Coffs Harbour CBD, taking thousands of vehicles out of the centre of town and saving motorists time by avoiding up to 12 traffic lights. 

The Australian and NSW Governments have announced Ferrovial Gamuda Joint Venture will construct a $2.2 billion Coffs Harbour Bypass.

“Work on this section will see 23.5 kilometres of electric cabling, 18.7 kilometres of water mains and 38.35 kilometres of telecommunication cables being moved,”  says Minister for Regional Transport and Road, Mr Sam Farraway.

“The 14-kilometre bypass will include three tunnels, which is a major win because it delivers the best outcome for the community,” Member for Coffs Harbour, Mr Gurmesh Singh says.

“The Coffs Harbour Bypass will improve safety significantly by diverting thousands of vehicles out of the heart of town and deliver a faster commute for motorists who can avoid up to 12 sets of traffic lights.”

Transport for NSW is already doing significant work for the bypass, including at-house noise treatments, relocating essential utilities around Coramba Road and Stadium Drive, structural removals and environmental work. 

Major work is expected to start early in 2023, weather permitting. The bypass is expected to be open to traffic from late 2026 and scheduled to be fully completed in late 2027.

The $2.2 billion Coffs Harbour Bypass project is jointly funded by the Australian and NSW governments on an 80:20 basis.

Source: © Transport for NSW 2022 

Image source: © Transport for NSW 2022 

^ Back to top